New Music

Sleater-Kinney & R.E.M. Form Filthy Friends, Taking Down Donald Trump In “Despierta”

It’s always great when artists join together to form supergroups. Sleater-Kinney released an incredible album last year, No Cities to Love, and recently teamed up with R.E.M. to form the supergroup Filthy Friends. But there are other musicians from other bands in Filthy Friends, as well. This collective features R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Corin Tucker of Sleater-Kinney. In addition, there’s The Minus 5 frontman Scott McCaughey, drummer Bill Rieflin, and The Young Fresh Fellow’s Kurt Bloch.

They recorded a song, “Despierta,” as part of the anti-Donald Trump music campaign 30 Days, 30 Songs. So, if you’re not a fan of Donald Trump and hate his guts, this should definitely be up your alley. Tucker’s vocals are always great to hear. Furthermore, the song will be on the 2017 debut album from Filthy Friends. Also be sure to check out the other plethora of anti-Trump songs in the series. From Death Cab for Cutie, Jim James, EL VY, Aimee Mann and more.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply